Responsive Ad Slot

The 16th Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2019: KNOCK-OUT ROUND | Matchday Review

Saturday, May 4, 2019

/ Published by Simon L Infimate
πŸ“‹ Today’s Results:
4th May, 2019 (Saturday)

1. Lamka SC 0-0 Kim Commissariat FC.
Kim Commissariat FC won 4-2 on penalties
2. Ngurte YC 2-1 Sialki FC.

🌍 A day of close encounters

Heartbreak for Lamka SC as Kim Commissariat FC clinched stunning penalty shout-out victory ;

Zoulien Neitham steered Ngurte YC into victory to enter quarter-finals

By Seiminlun Kipgen, Sports Columnist, Virthli (ONP)


Ccpur, May 04, 2019, Virthli (ONP): Two-time finalists Lamka Sports Club suffered a painful knock-out round elimination for the second straight year as they lost to debutants Kim Commissariat FC on penalties after a goalless regulation period while two first-half goals from youngster Zoulien Neitham helped Ngurte YC to a narrow 2-1 victory over Sialki FC to enter quarter-finals in today's evenly contested Pre-Quarter Final encounters of the ongoing 16th Hmar Martyrs' Trophy 2019 played at Saikot playground, Churachandpur.

Lamka SC won 4-2 on penalties

The first-half of the first match between Lamka Sports Club and Kim Commissariat FC was far from convincing as chances were few and the two sides lacking intensity and cohesion with a Lun Joel's low drive from the edge of the penalty box, which forced LSC's goalkeeper Sangboih into full-stretch action, been the only realistic chance. The second-half saw both sides revamping approach for goal and with the progress of the match, Lamka SC began to stamp their authority and towards the closing stages of the match, Elminhao Kilong was presented a golden opportunity to steal the match for Lamka SC but the lethargic striker put his effort just wide failing to beat Kim Commissariat FC custodian Siemlalpaul on a one-on-one situation and the match ended goalless.

In the ensuing penalty shout-out, Kim Commissariat FC emerged 4-2 winners while defeated Lamka SC suffered knock-out round elimination for the second straight year.
- - - - - - - -

Penalty Shout-out :

1. 1.
2. 2.
3. 3.
4. 4.

- - - - - - - - - - - -


In an evenly contested second match of the day between Ngurte YC and Sialki FC, Pauzalel Neihsial saw his distant free-kick tipped over the crossbar by the Ngurte YC goalkeeper Chhuanthavung earlier on but the actual breakthrough of the afternoon arrived just after the 10-minute mark when Zoulien Neitham (7) put Ngurte YC in front with a smart flick-in after exchanging passes with strike partner Khaiminthang Lhungdim and 10 minutes later, the advantage was doubled when Zoulien Neitham punished a defensive lapse of FC Sialki and slotted home his second of the match but Mangboi cut the deficit for Sialki FC towards the end of first-half and the highly entertaining opening half ended 2-1. The second-half saw FC Sialki pressing high for the equalizer but Ngurte YC also posed potent threat to double their advantage and the evenly contested encounter eventually ended 2-1 in favour of Ngurte YC.

Ngurte YC will meet Kim Commissariat FC in the quarter-finals on 10th May, 2019

🌍 The Starting Line-Ups :

πŸ“‹ Lamka SC :
1. Sangboih.
2. G. Ngulkhosiam.
3. Khualsanglian.
4. El-minhao Kilong.
5. Thangminlun Vaiphei.
6. Nelson Kom.
7. Henry.
8. Thangminlal Chongloi.
9. Joylian.
10. Hmangaihsang.
11. Solomon.

1. Siemlalpaul.
2. Kaiminlien.
3. Lun Joel.
4. Minlien Gangte.
5. Paolinmei.
6. Lalsiemthang Fimate.
7. Lamthianlal Vaiphei.
8. Zom Gangte.
9. S. Pau Gangte.
10. Paulienjel Gangte.
11. Mangpu Thangsing.


1. Chhuanthavung (goalkeeper).
2. Khaiminthang Lhungdim.
3. Zoulien Neitham.
4. Lalminlien Neitham.
5. Thomas Khup Vaiphei.
6. Kamsanglen Singson.
7. Paulemsiam Vaiphei.
8. Seiminlun Baite.
9. James Nonoa.
10. Gegen.
11. Paominlien.

1. Rommel Neihsial (goalkeeper).
2. Pauzalel Neihsial.
3. Thor Vaiphei.
4. Khamminthang.
5. Sangte Vips.
6. TK Chon.
7. Malsom.
8. Mangboi.
9. Reuben.

Photographs by Muona Infimate

Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
made with by Simon L Infimate