Responsive Ad Slot

Sinlung Hills Council interim government inducted

Friday, July 13, 2018

/ Published by VIRTHLI
Aizawl | July 13, 2018: Former Hmar People’s Convention-Democratic (HPC-D) spokesperson, Lalthalien was sworn in as the first Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the newly created Sinlung Hills Council (SHC) on July 13 in Aizawl.

Aizawl district Deputy Commissioner Dr. A. Muthamma administered the oath of office and secrecy to Lalthalien in a function held at the DC office chamber.

Along with Lalthalien, former HPC (D) working chairman Lalthanglien alias LT Hmar and former deputy army chief of the oufit Lalbieknung were also sworn in as chairman and deputy chairman of the interim council respectively.

Four Executive Members, namely Darliensang Ralsun, Lalthlamuana Hmar, JC Zairemkunga and the lone woman member Melody Lalchhuangzeli also took oath in the presence of the DC.

Apart from them seven leaders—Lalrinsanga Ralte, Lalremruata Varte, Benjamin, B. Lalthachhunga, Rohringa Hmar, Lalmalsawma Darngawn and Lalrammuanpuia were also sworn-in as Sinlung Hills Council (SHC) members.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. A. Muthamma lauded the Hmar militants for laying down arms to establish a “lasting peace” in Mizoram. While appealing the SHC members to work for the development of SHC area, the DC said that development will be available in any area where there is peace.

The newly inducted CEM Lalthalien then lauded the State government of Mizoram for its initiative “towards finding amicable solution to the Hmar political problems and establishing peace in the State”. He expressed his desire that the newly constituted SHC will bring development to the people of SHC and strengthen their brotherhood. He further said that he would give his best effort to develop the SHC area as the CEM.

The Sinlung Hills Council was set up as per the accord signed by the Mizoram government and the Hmar People’s Convention (Democratic) on April 2 this year.

The Mizoram government had on Monday constituted the interim council of SHC for a period of six months. Meanwhile, the state government on Wednesday declared Sakawrdai village as the headquarters of the SHC.

The first sitting of SHC Council was convened on Friday in Aizawl under the chairmanship of Lalthanglien.

Source: Newmai News Network via

Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
made with by Simon L Infimate