Responsive Ad Slot

Manipur lift Dr T Ao Trophy

Saturday, May 2, 2015

/ Published by VIRTHLI
GUWAHATI, May 1 – Manipur took home the Dr T Ao Trophy defeating host Assam 4-3 in the final at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium here this evening.
Both the teams were 1-1 at half-time. Pritom Singh put Manipur ahead in the 22nd minute but in the very next minute, Jilendra Brahma levelled the issue.

The action-packed second session witnessed as many as five goals. Ananda Kumar Singh made it 2-1 in favour of the visiting team in the 68th minute while Pritom netted his second goal in the 70th minute (3-1). Tuboi Singh found the target in the 85th minute to give Manipur a comfortable 4-1 lead.

Maneswar Mushahary reduced the margin in the 88th minute while Jilendra converted a spot kick to make it 4-3 in injury time.

Earlier, Mizoram beat Nagaland 6-1 in the play-off match for the third position. Lalfake Zuala (41st and injury time in the first session), Lalnunmawia (56th minute), Zico (59th minute), Dawngliana (84th minute) and Lalnumawia (90th minute) were the scorers for the winning team while Sakuteemjen (45th minute) reduced the margin.

Source: assamtribune
Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
made with by Simon L Infimate