Responsive Ad Slot

Okram Ibobi Singh sworn in as CM for the third time

Thursday, March 15, 2012

/ Published by Simon L Infimate
Imphal, March 14: Okram Ibobi Singh was sworn in as chief minister of Manipur on Thursday for the third time.

Singh was elected as Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader on Wednesday.

The 42 elected Congress candidates also took oath at the recently inaugurated assembly secretariat building.

Ibobi first took over as CM in 2002 heading the SPF coalition along with the CPI.

The Congress was in the political wilderness after the party suffered a split at the in 1997. The split in Congress saw the emergence of the Manipur State Congress Party (MSCP) led by the troika of W. Nipamacha (former CM), Th. Chaoba Singh (former union minister) and Dr. Chandramani (deputy speaker).

Nobody, not even Ibobi himself, would have even entertained the idea that he would go on to become the CM in 2002.

He also became the first man to complete a full term in office after Manipur achieved a statehood.



Ibobi again led from the front to take the Congress to its biggest ever tally when it bagged 30 of the 60 Assembly seats in the 2007 election. This has been bettered by the run away success of the Congress in the election to the 10th Assembly, bagging 42 seats in 2011.
Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
made with by Simon L Infimate