Responsive Ad Slot

The 16th Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2019: THE FINAL SHOWDOWN |Matchday Preview

Thursday, May 16, 2019

/ Published by Simon L Infimate
πŸ“‹ Final Match Fixture:
16th May, 2019 (Thursday)

FAST-Rengkai vs Saikot YC @ 01:00 PM.

🌍 Clash-of-the-Titans

A final fixture of highest class

πŸ“ By: Seiminlun Kipgen


CCPur, 16th May, 2019, Virthli (ONP): The highly anticipating final showdown of the much fan-fare 16th edition of Hmar Martyrs’ Trophy 2019 - in observance of the 29th State Level Hmar Martyrs’ Day, will showcase two strongest teams of the tournament – defending champions FAST of Rengkai and Saikot Youth Club going head-to-head today for what is going to be a mouth-watering final clash at Saikot playground, Churachandpur.

Unlike the previous editions, this year’s tournament saw drastic fall in teams’ participation due to late circulation and preparation, with 20 teams getting registered. However, such low-key statistics had nothing to do with the excitement of the tournament as the event recorded increase in attendance and growth in reputation and public exposure. Moreover, another special attraction of the tournament being the introduction of Man-of-the-Match Award from the quarter-finals stage onwards with deserving players taking pivotal role in team’s progress were acknowledged with Man-of-the-Match Award.

Today’s final showdown will be a high-voltage clash between two strongest teams of the tournament-Friendship Athletics Sporting Team(FAST) of Rengkai, who are making their fifth final appearance in 7 years, and hosts Saikot Youth Club- who (both) have lived upto the expectations and made a way through to the final quite deservingly and in convincing fashion.

Another fascinating factor about tomorrow’s battle being both sides overcoming big hurdles on their way to the final with the two sides have made a tough journey on their own way. On their journey to the final, the two sides encountered opponents- who were touted toughest- and succeeded in ousting fellow contenders one after another in convincing fashion.

Whatever, the circumstances it might be, Saikot YC’s 4-0 drubbing of heavyweights Bungmual YC during group-stage and their convincing 2-0 victory over SYMROPIA FC in the quarter-finals, which might well be the highest attending match so far, have given them an edge and the belief that they are on course to clinch their first ever championship of this decade ( if not their first ever) come the end of today’s final battle. Meanwhile, for FAST of Rengkai, who are looking to successfully defend the title they won last year, their 2-0 win over heavyweights FC Zotal in the quarter-finals and another convincing 2-0 victory over fellow contenders Tuithaphai SC in the semi-final have earned them weight and edge to become the second side, in the present decade, after Sielmat YC to have successfully defended its title.

With both sides rarely been under pressure throughout their journey, tomorrow’s clash will be the biggest test for either side. Without any defeat, Saikot YC have played 5 games heading into today’s final scoring past a tournament high 17 goals and conceding 3 thus averaging a goal-scoring data of 3.4 goals per match. Meanwhile, FAST played 4 games on their way to the final, drawing a match and winning three apart from scoring 11 goals and conceding just once thus averaging 2.9 goals per match.

The focal point of today’s highly anticipating final clash, to some extent, being leading goal-scorer with 7 goals Thangtinlen Haokip(19), who had won the top-scorer award twice before, going head-to-head with 5-goals Peter Seiminthang Haokip(9), who is thrilled by the anticipation of playing his first final today, of FAST while in an individual accolade, Jerry Pulamte (9) of Saikot YC could also topple the leading goal-scorer to the Top honour.

One peculiar point of today’s fixture being both sides having a squad blended with highly experienced players, who have plied their trade across some of the biggest club of Manipur and in India. Looking at every angle of the pitch, both sides are considered to have the right player at every position thus making it tough for opponents to overcome them.

For FAST of Rengkai, Manipur Police SC goalkeeper Joseph is expected to retain his position on goal while their strong defensive line-up could see Lalcha Haokip(14), Daniel L Hmar(5), Clement Lalthuoisang(19) and Pauginmuan(4) retaining their normal position with their strong midfield likely to be mended by magician trio of Minlian Vaiphei(8), Ngamginthang Haokip(16) and Samuel Ramtha (6) while their attacking line-up could feature Peter Seiminthang Haokip (9), Seiminmang Manchong @ Mangku(10) and Mayo (7).

For Saikot YC, NEROCA FC shot-stopper Bishorjit Singh is certain to resume his normal duty on goal while their defensive line-up could see the return of side-backs Naocha Singh(2) and Daniel Haokip(4), who were missing the semi-finals, shielding centre-backs of Immanuel Intoate(5) and Daniel Mate(12) while a strong midfield set-up could see Cleaven Hmar (17) and Cornellius Pudaite(8) flanked by Seiboi Haokip(13) and S.Ronald Singh(7) and their attacking line-up spearheaded by inform Jerry Pulamte(9) and Thangtinlen Haokip(19) – the two most productive striking partner with 12 goals between them in this tournament.

The winners of the tournament will be rewarded cash incentives of Rs. 1 Lakh apart from the coveted trophy while the runners-up team should have to content with Rs. 50,000/- with trophy.


πŸ›£ The Road to the Final :

🌍 Group-Stage:

FAST 1-1 Kim Commisarriat FC


Saikot YC 4-1 FC Rhino.

Saikot YC 4-0 Bungmual YC.


🌍 Knock-Out Round:

FAST 6-1 Zeals SC.

Saikot YC 4-0 Sanakhang FC.


🌍 Quarter-Finals Round:

FAST 2-0 FC Zotal.

Saikot YC 2-0 SYMROPIA FC.


🌍 Semi-Finals :

FAST 2-0 Tuithaphai SC.

Saikot YC 3-2 Kim Commissariat FC.



πŸ“‹ FAST:
1. Joseph(Manipur Police SC).
2. L.Gogocha (AIM/10).
3. Samuel R.Hmar (6).
4. Daniel Hmar (8).
5. Gideon K.Buongpui(17).
6. Clement Lalthuoisang Buongpui (KLASA/19).
7. Pauginmuan (Lenlai Club/4).
8. Peter Khumrolien (Lenlai Club/Ahsijolneng FC/20).
9. Daniel L.Hmar (TRAU/5).
10. Lalcha Haokip (former ZFC and Ahsijolneng FC/14).
11. Minlian Vaiphei (United Khawzim Brothers/8).
12. Mayo (TRAU/7).
13. Ngamginthang Haokip (Assam Rifles Club/16).
14. Peter Seiminthang Haokip (TRAU/9).
15. Lalsuonglien(11).
16. David F.Tuollai (former KSC, NISA/3).
17. Kangkatar.
18. Meshak Joute.
19. Seiminmang @ Mangku (10/Delhi Dynamos).
20. Daviko.

Manager: Ruolsang F Tusing.
Coach : Ramsang Tusing.
Medic : Muonboi.


1. Bishorjit Singh (NEROCA FC goalkeeper).
2. Jedidi Haokip (Atletico De Kolkata Reserve).
3. Daniel Mate (12/FC Zalen).
4. Samson.
5. Anand Lalthlamuon(14).
6. Lalhmingmawi.
7. Cleaven Hmar (17/Muvanlai Athletics).
8. Jimmy(3).
9. Jerry Pulamte (9/NEROCA FC).
10. Thangtinlen Haokip (19/former FC Zalen).
11. John Lalremsang(15).
12. Seiboi (13/Assam Rifles Club).
13. John.
14. Lalzarzo @ Naote (20/former USA-Khurai).
15. TC Lalhriatpuia.
16. Immanuel Intoate (5/Morning Star FC - Assam).
17. Daniel Haokip (4/Atletico De Kolkata Reserve).
18. Ronald Singh(7/NEROCA FC).
19. Michael(6).
20. Cornelius Pudaite (8/Morning Star FC).
21. Naocha Singh (2/NEROCA FC).

Manager : Jim Blessing.
Coach : Lalhmangai.
Physio : Lalthlamuong.
Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
made with by Simon L Infimate