Responsive Ad Slot

14th Hmar Martyrs' Trophy 2017 Semifinal: Sielmat YC vs UKB

Friday, May 12, 2017

/ Published by VIRTHLI
~ Seiminlun Kipgen

Bedeenpar Moyon headed champions Sielmat YC into the final, heartbreak for UKB as a first-goal concede condemned them to a disappointing elimination

Ccpur, the 12th May 2017 : Experience proved to be the difference of the match as Sielmat YC booked their place into the final thanks to a second-half goal from Bedeenpar Moyon in today's tense semi-finals of the ongoing 14th Hmar Martyrs' Trophy 2017 at a packed Saikot playground, Churachandpur. .
In today's semi-finals clash, both sides started the match with high intensity although United Khawzim Brothers had a better start as they produced dominant display inside the opening 10 minutes. However, with the progress of the match, Sielmat YC began settling into the match but the first genuine goal-scoring opportunity fell to UKB as Ginminthang Hangshing was set free on goal but feeling the pressure of being intercepted, the new FC Zalen's signing fired the ball over the crossbar and the opening half of the match ended goalless despite both sides launching few promising attack on the break couple with few tame free-kick.

With the match restarted, Sielmat YC went offensive and got their reward when Bedeenpar Moyon headed home a rebound with a looping header right at the start after Gogocha's fierce shot was parried into his path by the UKB custodian. However, the goal came at a high cost as the goal-scorer was immediately stretched off due to the ankle injury suffered in the build-up to the goal. With UKB playing under immense pressure chasing the game, highly experienced Sielmat YC sieged control and frustrated their Khawzim counterparts by introducing their typical game of possessive but pacy football and taking advantage of UKB's full commitment in attack in search of the equaliser, L.Gogocha almost double his side's lead in a contentious circumstance for offside dispute but the SSU hitman fired his shot straight to the UKB's custodian and moments later Sielmat goalkeeper Mong Hmangte was forced into full-stretch action as the experienced shot-stopper denied Ginminthang Hangshing's fierce shot and in the opposite direction, last year's top-scorer Thangtinlen Haokip was denied a goal when his solo effort ended in UKB goalkeeper Jeson Vaiphei closing him down in tight angle and with clock ticking down, a solid Sielmat YC's defence constructed by the experienced quartet of Clement Lalthuoisang-Daniel Hmar-Immanuel Intoate and Nelson Kom held firm to frustrate the Khawzim Brothers' attack and the champions emerged 1-0 winners to make passage into the final and in the process strengthening their chance of retaining the title they won last year while goal-scorer Bedeenpar Moyon walked away with a cash of ₹2000 for scoring the winners donated by the watching social worker Th.German Kuki.

The Starting Line-ups :

Sielmat YC :
Goalkeeper : Mong Hmangte.
Defenders :
Immanuel Intoate (RB).
Daniel L Hmar (CD).
Clement Lalthuoisang(CD).
Nelson Kom (LB).
Midfielders :
Cornelius Pudaite.
Bedeenpar Moyon.
Forwards :
Thangtinlen Haokip.


Goalkeeper : L.Jeson Vaiphei.
Defenders :
Mangkholen Kipgen (LB).
Thangminlun Vaiphei (CD).
Thomas Khup Vaiphei (CD).
Henry Lalcha Kipgen (RB).
Midfielders :
1. Peter Seiminthang Haokip.
2. Paulemsiam Vaiphei.
3. Minlian Vaiphei.
4. Lalminlun Vaiphei.
5. Jersey no. 11.
Forward :
Ginminthang Hangshing.
The Result:
Sielmat YC 1-0 United Khawzim Brothers.
Goal-scorer : Ng. Bedeenpar Moyon.

Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
made with by Simon L Infimate