Responsive Ad Slot

CPI announces first list of candidates

Thursday, December 29, 2011

/ Published by Simon L Infimate
Imphal, December 28 2011: For the 10th Manipur Legislative Assembly election scheduled to be held on January 28, the CPI has announced the first list of 19 candidates.

Announcing the list of candidates which included a woman at Irabot Bhavan here this afternoon, CPI State Secretary Dr Nara hinted that the second list of candidates may be announced by January 3 .

Significantly, CPI sitting MLA Dr U Deben has not been given party ticket this time.

Dr U Deben was elected from Wabagai AC in the last Assembly elections.

On being enquired about denying CPI ticket to the sitting MLA, Dr M Nara clarified that the party's executive body expelled Dr U Deben from the party on October 6 this year for his involvement in graft practices and anti-party activities.

Dr Nara further blamed the Wabagai MLA for misusing MLA fund, harbouring intention to amass wealth by engaging himself in contract works and staying away from several activities of the party.

Stating that no party can get absolute majority in the forthcoming elections, Dr Nara predicted a coalition Government in Manipur after the election.

The CPI would certainly join the coalition Government as a partner and help in establishing a stable Government which can safeguard the integrity of Manipur and bring about progressive governance.

Dr Nara claimed that CPI would secure more seats this time than the last Assembly election when it won in four seats.

On being asked whether CPI and Congress party would go for friendly contest, Dr Nara said that there has been no change in the structure of SPF-II and the same coalition Government has not been dissolved till date.

N Mangi claimed that CPI has dedicated itself to safeguarding integrity of Manipur, restoration of communal harmony and a revolutionary change for the better.

The CPI candidates included in the first list are; Ph Parijat (Lamlai), Dr M Nara (Wangjing Tentha), N Mangi (Kumbi), Meisnam Sakhi (Konthoujam), A Lala (Kshetrigao), RK Amusana (Khurai), N Singhajit (Langthabal), Twanzalian Lianpu (Thanlon), Naorem Achouba (Kakching), Laishram Premchandra (Khundrakpam), Ph Irabot (Patsoi), Dr Y Radheshyam (Hiyanglam), Ph Pakchao (Lamsang), O Malesh (Naoria Pakhanglakpa), Dr Y Mani (Andro), Heikham Dingo (Sekmai), M Jayanta (Thongju), Y Jiban (Sugnu) and M Asnikumar (Thanga) .

~Sangai Express
Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
made with by Simon L Infimate