Responsive Ad Slot

Lobbying venue for Congress tickets shift to Delhi

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

/ Published by Simon L Infimate
Imphal: For all those lobbying for Congress ticket to contest in the coming State Assembly elections, the battlefield has been now shifted to Delhi even as the AICC is likely to announce the list of candidates by tomorrow.

Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh and MPCC President Gaikhangam have landed in the National capital today along with the names of candidates which were drawn up during a meeting of the Ticket Committee of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee yesterday.

An MLA from Manipur, who is currently camping at Delhi, told Hueiyen Lanpao that the CM and the MPCC President, who have arrived in Delhi today, could not meet the Congress High Command so far but they are likely to have an audience with the Congress High Command tomorrow where AICC President Sonia Gandhi will study the list and give necessary approval.

Among a host of Congress Ministers and MLAs who are presently staying in Delhi over one reason or the other, include Works Minister K Ranjit, Health Minister L Jayentakumar, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj Minister Md Allaudin Khan, Deputy Speaker Th Lokeshore and MLA M Hemanta.

Among the non-Congress MLAs camping in Delhi to lobby for Congress tickets include MLA Dr Ng Bijoy, MLA Hangkhanpao, MLA Dr U Deben, etc.

It may be noted here that a meeting of the Ticket Committee of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee yesterday came up with a list of Congress MLAs, who would be given party ticket, from each Constituency, with exception that of Wangjing Tentha Constituency where the name of the sitting MLA Hemanta has been featured along side another aspiring Congress candidate.

According to a highly reliable source, the meeting which was conducted yesterday was attended by Luizinho Faleiro, NE in-charge, Indian National Congress, Chief Minister, O Ibobi and all the 19 members of the Ticket Committee.

The source disclosed that the list of the probable candidates drawn up during the meeting yesterday also have the names of one sitting MLA of NCP, three sitting MLAs of MPP and some MLAs from Constituencies in the hill districts.

Source: Hueiyen News Service
Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
made with by Simon L Infimate